Feminist, Party of One.

Yep. I’m going to go into a “feminist rant” now. Really I just feel like I need to address why some people (women mostly, is who I’m talking about here) don’t want to be called feminist. I wrote a piece a few weeks ago about how feminism isn’t cool anymore, where I just stretched the surface of the “anti feminist” trend that I have been witnessing lately.

f9b01030615aa36d5bfdf94fd2407c6f
Found on Pinterest

Right now though, I’d like to point out the major hypocrisy in the “anti feminist” ideology and my own opinions on the whole thing.

The main reason I see many people arguing against feminism is that it’s not inclusive. Their argument is that if feminist were really about equal rights for everyone then they wouldn’t be called feminist in the first place. To understand why feminism is called feminism you need to look at the origins of the movement and it’s history. Feminism, as I think we all know, was a movement created to establish equal rights (both politically, economically and socially) for women when women were believed to be less than.

571b73134a6f0d0cd734df67c5b087ff
Found on Pinterest

Comparing this to a movement like Black Lives Matter, it’s not that people within this movement are saying everyone else doesn’t matter too. They are not fighting for special treatment of blacks or minorities, nor are they fighting against every single white person. The reason the movement is called Black Lives Matter is because right now, at this moment in time, they are the ones being punished, targeted and killed simply for the color of their skin. They are the ones who need to fight for equality and acceptance. They are the focus of this movement.

Feminism, I feel, can be explained in a similar way. By saying “I’m a feminist” I am not saying “I hate all men”, I am simple saying that right now, in my world today, I feel as though as a woman I am not treated fairly and equally to my male counterparts. It isn’t about hating men, it’s about loving myself as a woman enough to know that I deserve to not only be politically and economically equal to men but I also deserve to be socially equal.

53ff6f4fa0b5ccb21bd281678492defc
Found on Pinterest

Then there’s the “I just don’t want to be grouped with feminazis” to which I say, oh well. There are bad apples in every group. More often than not I’ve found that the people who say this the most are those who are apart of some sort of organized political party or religion. A catholic girl saying “I believe in everything feminist do, I just don’t call myself a feminist because I don’t want to be grouped with the extreme feminist. People might think I’m like that too.” seems so hypocritical to me because I just think to myself – so you’re okay with calling yourself catholic, a religious group of people who are often grouped with pedophiles and child molesters but not with feminist who are sometimes referred to as man haters?

As I’ve said to many people (usually in the comments sections of YT videos where, let’s be honest, nobody actually cares what you have to say unless you’re patting them on the back for their intolerance or ignorance) that I am not going to stop calling myself a pagan just because some people have a negative connotation of the word or because some pagans don’t think I’m actually pagan (though it’s an umbrella term so….) because I have a more agnostic view of the world and spirituality as a whole, that doesn’t stop me from identifying as a pagan.

Then there’s the argument – Why don’t you just call yourself an egalitarian? Which if you didn’t know means : relating to or believing in the principle that all people are equal and deserve equal rights and opportunities.

Which sounds great and I am more then happy to use this term in accompany with feminist. I do believe in equality for every human being but (isn’t there always a big ol’ butt?) right now, in my life, I am focused on the inequality of women politically, economically and socially.

So you can say you’re not a feminist, but believe in everything feminism stands for, because you don’t want to be lumped with the radicals but, in my opinion, you should also refrain from using any labels to identify yourself or your beliefs. You know, to insure you’re not grouped with all the radicals within that group, movement, religious organization or political party . And if you call yourself, let’s say, a christian but at the same time disassociate yourself with feminism (because of the radicals) just know that I will assume you are just like all the radical christians, since you seem to be okay with using one label and not another despite the presence of radical ideals in each group.

Leave a Reply

